Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Living With Classical Homocystinuria Webinar

This live webinar discussed the impact classical homocystinuria takes on a person and their family, including tips for managing the disorder and advice for staying positive in the face of health adversity.


Webinar Details:

Speakers: Dr Andrew Morris, Anita Inwood, Sue Thompson

Topic: Living with classical homocystinuria

Date: Tue, 2 July – this event has passed.

Time: Australian Times

NSW, ACT, VIC, QLD, TAS: 7:00pm AEST
SA: 6:30pm ACST
NT: 6:30pm ACST
WA: 5:00pm AWST

UK: 10:00 am BST

For other International Times, click here.

Location: The webinar was live streamed from the HCU Network Australia website. The webcast recording will soon be loaded here.



Speaker Bios:

Andrew Morris (United Kingdom)

Dr. Andrew Morris is a Consultant and Senior Lecturer in Paediatric Metabolic Medicine. He works on the Willink Metabolic Unit, which is part of the Genomic Medicine in the Central Manchester University Hospitals. Dr. Morris has extensive experience in inborn errors or metabolism in children and some experience with adults. He has considerable experience of managing patients with classical homocystinuria and remethylation disorders.

Dr. Morris is on the Steering Group for E-HOD, the European Network and Registry for Homocysinurias and Methylation Defects; he is Leader of the Classical Homocystinuria Guidelines Group and the Work Group on Evaluation of the Project.

Dr. Morris is currently a scientific advisor for the HCU Network Australia and most recently is the first named author on the recently published Guidelines for the diagnosis and management of cystathionine beta-synthase deficiency from the Journal of Metabolic Disease.

 

 

Anita Inwood (Australia)

Ba Nurs, Grad Dip Paeds, MNP

Queensland Children’s Hospital, Brisbane, Australia and University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia

Anita Inwood has been a paediatric nurse for 30 years. She qualified as a Metabolic Nurse Practitioner (NP) through the University of Queensland in 2015 and has been a University of Queensland Associate Lecturer since 2016. She won a Churchill Fellowship in 2012.

 

 

 

Sue Thompson (Australia)

Sue Thompson is an Advanced Accredited Practising Dietitian with over 30 years experience in dietary management of genetic metabolic diseases. Sue  is currently the Clinical Specialist Dietitian with the Genetic Metabolic Disorders Service, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead, Sydney.

Sue has previously served as Chairperson, Secretary and Dietitian representative  of the Australasian Society for Inborn Errors of Metabolism (ASIEM). She has authored or co-authored a number of ASIEM dietary handbooks for families and patients,

Sue is a published author of 2 nutrition books and has also held positions in management, lecturing and consultancy to food industry.

 

 

Organizer

HCU Network Australia